Teaching Drum Outdoor School (Midwest Schools in General)

Free discussion about schools that teach wilderness survival, tracking, and nature. Share experiences, make inquiries, provide praise and critiques, recommend a school, notices of classes, etc.

Moderators: admin, Walter Muma

Teaching Drum Outdoor School (Midwest Schools in General)

Postby TK98 » Thu Jan 15, 2009 5:05 pm

I'm new to the forums, but not at all to this great site. I have basic knowledge of outdoor survival and would love to get the hands-on teaching from an expert. I have read some positive and negative things about this program but figured you all might have other opinions.

The Teaching Drum school is based in the upper part of Wisconsin. I was wondering if anyone here has heard of them or has had any experience with their programs. If so, was it a good experience? What can you tell me about the teachers/guides? Let me know anything that would help me to decide whether or not to look more into this school.

If anyone knows about any other schools around the midwest that are good quality and not too expensive, please let me know of those as well. I live in the chicagoland area to give you all a reference for where I could go for the schools.

Thanks a lot everyone,

TK
TK98

Re: Teaching Drum Outdoor School (Midwest Schools in General)

Postby coon4492 » Thu Jan 15, 2009 5:31 pm

I'm not farmiliar with the school but i'm sure they have a website you could check out ive been looking for a good school I might take a few classes there if i don't go to the closer tracker school in new jersey ill let u no if its any good if i go.
"The diference between danger and food supply is simply the presence of a killing tool."

- LDS
coon4492

Postby Aquacopter » Fri Jan 16, 2009 1:56 pm

MTV did a True Life episode on them a while back where they followed to kids through there course. It might give you a better take on how you would learn there.
http://www.mtv.com/videos/misc/286338/w ... id=1596326